Environmental Microbiology Lecture 2022: Kristala L Jones Prather

6 October 2022 6.30pm – 9pm BST + Add to calendar Lecture BMA House
18:30 Delegates arrive
18:55 Delegates to take seats
19:00 Introduction by Brendan Gilmore
19:10 Ken Timmis discusses the current state of Environmental Microbiology and what the future might hold, introduced by Juan Luis Ramos
19:20 Kristala L. Jones Prather delivers 2022 Environmental Microbiology Lecture
20:00 Closed Q&A session with Kristala L. Jones Prather
20:15 Networking and drinks reception
21:00 Depart


We are pleased to announce that this year’s EMI Lecture will be given by Professor Kristala Jones Prather. Professor Prather is the ‘Arthur Dehon Little’ Professor and Executive Officer for the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Her work focuses broadly on the themes of ‘design and assembly of novel pathways for biological synthesis’, ‘enhancement of enzyme activity and control of metabolic flux’ and ‘bioprocess engineering and design’. As well as the winner of this year’s EMI Award, Professor Prather has in the past been the recipient of numerous awards, and been recognised for her contribution to the science of Microbiology. Most recently, in 2021 Professor Prather was awarded the Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering, awarded by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

The 2022 SfAM EMI Lecture will take place on 6 October 2022 and is free to SfAM members who hold an invitationThe format of the lecture will be a talk by Professor Kristala Prather followed by a Q&A session.

BMA House (Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9JP) is in the heart of London. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens – arguably the greatest British architect of the twentieth century – and opened by King George V, this remarkable, Grade II listed building will make the 2022 Environmental Microbiology Lecture even more spectacular.

This year, we are also marking the retirement of Founding Editor Professor Ken Timmis, who after 24 years is taking the opportunity to hand over the reins of the journal. As part of this event, we shall be celebrating Ken's prestigious time as Chief Editor, and thanking him for his years of long service to EMI and SfAM.

As Founding Editor of three wonderful microbiology journals, I have had such fun trying out new ideas, such as the current Burning Questions Feature, to promote and stimulate the field.
Ken Timmis

Ken Timmis


Professor Kristala L. Jones Prather

Professor Kristala L. Jones Prather

Arthur Dehon Little Professor, Department Executive Officer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Find out more