Applied Microbiology Product of the Year Award

Each year AMI recognises key products that have come to market that tackle global challenges using microbiology.

The Applied Microbiology Product of the Year Award celebrates innovation, science, and technology in products that harness the power of microbiology to tackle global challenges reflected in the SDGs. This award recognises a product that stands out in its contribution to one or multiple areas of sustainable development, showcasing the profound impact of applied microbiology on both society and the planet.

The commercial product derived from microbiology research must have been launched (or significantly redesigned) in the last 12 months, or is due to be launched in the coming months.

The recipient of the award shall receive:

  • A commemorative plaque highlighting their achievement
  • A feature article in our digital magazine The Microbiologist.
Who should apply:

The product(s) should represent any of the following qualities:

  • A significant advancement in applied microbiology
  • A particularly innovative design
  • A substantial achievement or improvement in performance


Nominations close 30 August 2024. Following this, AMI's internal awards panel will evaluate the nominations and decide on a winner, which will be announced on 16 October.

AMI both permits and encourages self-nomination. This is to ensure people from all parts of the applied microbiology community have a fair chance of being recognised for their achievements. We are keen to ensure that we recognise excellence in all areas of applied microbiology. Therefore, we welcome nominations that reflect the diversity of our microbiology community. We particularly welcome nominees from under-represented groups and from individuals with diverse or non-traditional career trajectories. Click here for full nomination guidelines on this prize.

After the close of the nomination deadline, submissions are sent for consideration by our Award Committee where they will be shortlisted. After a second round of consideration, award winners will be notified.